SHOUT OUT! HECTOR VEGA!

Hector with his mother Maria Agosto Coronel and, step-father, Aurelio Coronel.

Hector Vega leaves pieces of himself throughout Cleveland.  “Flowers on the Plaza” is a beautiful masterpiece created by Mr. Vega,  it stands in front of Ronald McDonald House.   Many of his creations adorn businesses, government buildings, and residences.  Hector has received numerous awards in the U.S and abroad.  Despite his success, he remains humble.  He has not forgotten his modest beginnings, this propels him to help others.

“Please tell me about yourself.”

“I like cultured people who respect all cultures.  I dislike people who think that their personal beliefs should be imposed on everyone.  I grew up very poor in the mountainous region in Gurabo, Puerto Rico.  My mother raised four of us as a single mother.  We couldn’t afford vacations back then.  I had no doubt that I wanted to be an artist and I’m self-taught.”

Hector Vega, Eileen Sheehan, and Richard Romero served on the CLE ART for Puerto Rico committee.  The three artists along with other local artists donated pieces of art to raise money for the victims of Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico.  The committee exceeded the goal of $5,000.00.

“The new Star Wars movie just came out.  If you had “The Force” how would you use it?”

“If I had “the force”, I’d put an end to war, hunger, racial-religious persecution and suffering.  I’d put an end to all inequalities and I’d especially put an end to sagging pants.”

“You grew up very humbly, did your childhood influence you in becoming a philanthropist?”

“Yes, growing up in humble surroundings did influence my philanthropist way of thinking.”

“Please tell me about charities/events you have supported.”

“I’ve contributed to many charities.  My three favorites are women’s, children’s, and animal charities.  The charity events were many.”

“Please tell me an act of kindness you received and the impact it had on you.”

“I’ve been fortunate to have had successful friends notice my talent, drive, and perseverance.   They’ve believed in me and supported me in many ways and I’ve shown my gratitude and appreciation by always donating to their causes.”

“Do you think you are a role model for others, for other Latinos, why or why not?”

“Yes, I see myself as a role model, not just to Latinos but to anyone who aspires living out their dreams; especially if they’re helping others along the way.”

“Who are you nominating for the next SHOUT OUT?”

“I nominate Lewis Zipkin.  He is my attorney and mentor.”

Hector recently retired after working 30 years for the Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority.   He could easily move out of Cleveland, away from frigid winters to a tropical place with pina coladas and bikinis but he stays here.   Instead of turning into a couch potato, he continues to work hard creating amazing artwork and serving on fundraising committees in hopes of making a positive impact on others.  “Everyone can be a philanthropist, it isn’t about money.”  Mr.Vega reminds others donating time, talent or treasure helps influence lives for the better.

I apologize for the quality of the picture but I couldn’t resist.  Hector, you look cool and casual (QUE  CHEVERE)

Leave a comment